Stoneware village

Stoneware Village

The origin of the name of Gressey, it is the Latin word " gresiacum " (stoneware), in touch with important fields of stoneware on the municipality.

There is on the municipality no track of Gallic or Roman occupation with the exception of a menhir, destroyed in 1823, situated in the locality of the Feed, known under the name of " stone of Mont-Bergeon ".

In the middle of the XIIIth century, the territory of Gressey is shared between two Lords, Gressey and Brunel. In 1530, Louis Hallé, rider, is a Lord of Gressey-Hallé. In 1635, the seigneury passes to Pierre Pinson. In the XVIIIth century, Michel Vialard, ambassador in Switzerland(Swiss), becomes an owner.

In 1870, Germans, furious of having lost men in the neighborhood of Berchères-sur-Vesgre, shoot 6 inhabitants of Gressey in a field near the hamlet of the Puddle.

 

 
 

Eglise de Gressey

 
 
The church Saint Peter, of XIIth and XIVth centuries, is endowed with a flat head. This Romanic church, enlarged in the XIVth century, is constituted by a single vessel divided into two parts - nave and before nave, covered by a vault panelled in broken cradle, supported by entraits.
These last ones are sculptured by contorted faces which join the medieval tradition. A picture representing Saint Louis's death decorates the bottom of the church. The bell, baptized "Michel", is of 1669. 

 

 
 
 


 
 Manoir et ferme de Brunel
In the hamlet of Brunel, we can notice the manor house of Brunel and its chapel of the XVIth century.

La commune du grès

La commune du grès

L'origine du nom de Gressey, c'est le mot latin « gresiacum » (grès), en rapport avec d’importants gisements de grès sur la commune.

Il n’existe sur la commune aucune trace d’occupation gauloise ou romaine à l’exception d’un menhir, détruit en 1823, situé au lieu-dit des Pâtures, connu sous le nom de « pierre du Mont-Bergeon ».

Au milieu du XIIIe siècle, le territoire de Gressey est partagé entre deux seigneurs, les Gressey et les Brunel. En 1530, Louis Hallé, écuyer, est seigneur de Gressey-Hallé. En 1635, la seigneurie passe à Pierre Pinson. Au XVIIIe siècle, Michel Vialard, ambassadeur en Suisse, en devient propriétaire.
 
En 1870, les Allemands, furieux d’avoir perdu des hommes aux environs de Berchères-sur-Vesgre, fusillent 6 habitants de Gressey dans un champ près du hameau de la Mare.
 
 

Eglise de Gressey

 
 
 
L’église Saint Pierre, du XIIe et XIVe siècles, est dotée d’un chevet plat. Cette église romane, agrandie au XIVe siècle, est constituée d’un seul vaisseau divisé en deux parties -nef et avant nef-, couvertes par une voûte lambrissée en berceau brisé, soutenue par des entraits.
Ces derniers sont sculptés de figures grimaçantes qui s’inscrivent dans la tradition médiévale. Un tableau représentant la mort de Saint-Louis orne le fond de l’église. La cloche, baptisée « Michel », est de 1669.
 
 
 


 
 Manoir et ferme de Brunel
Au hameau de Brunel, on peut remarquer le manoir de Brunel et sa chapelle du XVIe siècle.